All News

Driehaus Prize Jury Meets in Seaside

Posted on Jan 01, 2015 in Driehaus Prize , January-February 2015

Left to right: Paul Goldberger, Michael Lykoudis, Witold Rybczynski, Richard H. Driehaus, Adele Chatfield-Taylor, Demetri Porphyrios, Leon Krier and Robert Davis

Each year, the Richard H. Driehaus Prize jury travels together to a city of architectural significance to select an architect who has greatly influenced the field of traditional and classical architecture. This group of six has convened in places like London, Washington, D.C., Buenos Aires, New York City and Chicago where they have spent time exploring the city’s urban fabric together while contemplating potential architects for the next year’s Driehaus Prize. This year, the jury met in Seaside in November for this same purpose.

Established in 2003 in conjunction with the University of Notre Dame where the awards are presented annually in the spring, the Richard H. Driehaus Prize honors, promotes and encourages architectural excellence that applies the principles of traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism in contemporary society and environments.

Richard H. Driehaus, the founder and chairman of Driehaus Capital Management in Chicago, established the award program through Notre Dame because of its reputation as a national leader in incorporating the ideals of traditional and classical architecture into the task of modern urban development.

The panel of jurors is comprised of an all-star cast of architecture-related professionals: Adele Chatfield-Taylor, President of the American Academy in Rome; architecture critic Paul Goldberger and author Witold Rybczynski; world-renowned architects Léon Krier and Demetri Porphyrios; and Seaside founder, Robert Davis.

In conjunction of the jury meeting, the group also celebrated Davis’ 71st birthday.

Dinner was at the Robert Stern-designed house in Seaside on the Gulf. Stern was a past recipient of the Driehaus Prize.